Through My Mother’s Eyes

It’s Mother’s Day 2017, and I’m VERY blessed to still have mine. Everything I think I know about love, came from a foundation laid by her, via The Word of God (i.e. The Holy Bible).

As I sip on my coffee this morning, my toes rubbing softly on the blue gray carpet in my always too crowded townhouse, I cannot help but to think about the things I’ve learned from her, and how they’ve impacted my life.

     “Beareth all things, believeth all things, hopeth all things, endureth all things.”

     Corinthians 13, written by the Apostle Paul, is often read in conjunction with wedding vows. Oh, it sounds beautiful. Just listening to the verses being read at a wedding can carry a heart away, a blissful momentary ride on the love bus.  And leaves one to imagine themselves, if they have not yet experienced it, loving another so wholly, and so completely, that they become one living, breathing unit.

“If it ain’t a Godly love, like Paul speaks of in Corinthians, if you’re unwilling to bear it all, and endure it all, it ain’t real love” Momma would say.

But, enduring it all for the sake of love doesn’t always feel good, does it? That’s the part they leave out.  “Real love” is not always some dreamy, butterflies in the stomach, oh-I-can’t-live-without-you thing that you take for granted, and play with. “Bearing all”, and “enduring all” takes a lot of sacrifice.  And, knowing how much you’ve sacrificed raises your expectations, making you really believe that “love conquers all.”  So,  there’s no way it won’t work out, right?

Then, because your belief system is so strong, unwaivering, you are devastated when it all falls apart.  That “ole Christian guilt” rears its head, and before long, you’ve accepted all the blame for something that was always out of your control.

     “Everything Happens For A Reason”

     “He said over in Jeremiah 29 ‘For I know the plans I have for you!'”  Momma’s​ Sunday school class was always the place to be on a Sunday morning because the woman could fair out teach God’s Word in her day.

“God’s plan for your life is perfect. He knows what He’s doing when it comes to your life.”

So, since “God’s plan is perfect”, and “everything happens for a reason”, then why feel bad about anything? Why does what we know about God, and the church, back us into so many corners when it comes to love?

Being affiliated with a Pentecostal, or Holiness, church means not believing in divorce. The juxtaposition is that divorce is a very real possibility.

I would NEVER marry someone unless I felt in my heart that it would be forever, because that’s what I believe in; what I expect from marriage. On the other hand, when it comes to love, I don’t trust people with my heart.  My faith in true love, lasting love between two individuals for an eternity, has been, at best, shaken.

And this is where Momma’s biggest lesson would come in.

“You need mo’ Jesus!”

She would often say the words to me when she knew I was feeling bad; when I needed encouraging. And, woo wee, I would get so mad.

“I mean, I’m telling you that I’m hurting, or that someone hurt me,  your instinct is to tell me that I need moJesus?” I would think to myself.

But you know what? She was right.  See, our views on love change. That’s natural; unavoidable.  But, love itself should not.  If Jesus thought the way I do, that you can’t trust love once you’ve been hurt by it, we’d all be lost. If He had let the fact that he was disappointed in me, and the fact that He had to wait on me to learn what love isn’t before I understood how much He truly loved me, if He had let all of that ruin my chances at redemption, where would I be?
So, I am thankful for my Queen on today! What she has taught me about love simply cannot be measured. A Godly love brought her, and Daddy, to 36 years of marriage, and seven kids.  And, when I look at love through my mother’s eyes, I cannot help but to see the Lord.

Until our next cup;

Janet Faye

 

2 thoughts on “Through My Mother’s Eyes

    1. Yasssss!! Thank God for them😘😘😘 Love has gotten better; the way I feel about it has anyways. The seed has been planted from youth. I realized that I have to work to feed the soil in which it is planted. It’s a lifestyle😎

      Like

Leave a Reply

